RSS Feed

TRI training, week 3 – done

TRI training, week 3 – done

This week included time out of town and being a tad under the weather.

Image

Monday held a run outside in mid-afternoon Alabama heat and humidity followed by an indoor swim in a saltwater pool. I woke up that morning exhausted and had some tummy discomfort. It’s a tough day when you wake up tired. I usually set my alarm clock based on sleep cycles but didn’t today. Does anyone else do that? That may have played a small role but I felt generally run-down all day. Anywho, about a third of the run was on a gravel trail through the woods. I loved the shade and paid extra attention to my footing. No ankle rolls, yahoo! I downed quite a bit of water before and after the run but the heat was exhausting so I choose stick with the “required” swim distance. I was beat.

Tuesday involved traveling back to Nashville and more generally not feeling well. I took the day off from training. See, I’m learning to listen to my body. I pushed it the day before and that didn’t get me anywhere except on the couch.

About 1:30am on Wednesday I awoke, drenched. PJs, hair, sheets, everything. Guess a fever would explain feeling so crummy earlier. I felt drastically better after a few more hours of sleep, just in time to attend my first Masters swim club practice at 6:45am. I really enjoyed it! See my earlier post “Sink or swim, I’m diving in” for more details.

Friday I took a nap after work and did the swim workout on my own in the evening. Apparently Friday is Fin Day at swim club so I gave it a shot. Interesting experience. I’m using Z2 Zoomers when swimming on my own at the Y. I learned what it felt like to point my toes and to kick from my hips. I have a wimpy kick. Seriously, I have to tell my self to kick when I swim. I would pull the whole workout if I could. I have to save my legs for the bike and the run anyway, right? A wimpy kick may not be a bad thing after all, just kidding. Hopefully it will improve. I debated swimming a few months on my own before joining a Masters group but decided that if I went ahead and jumped in now I’d likely be further along in four months than if I had waited four months to join. We’ll see! 🙂

Since I got called in to work for a 24h shift on Saturday I pushed the walk/jog to Sunday evening. It’s finally starting to feel like Fall here, a cool 77 degrees, a welcomed relief compared to the heat during Monday’s workout. It went well. I took it easy and felt I could have gone longer. No bike this week due increasing my swim distance. Hopefully I’ll be back to all three next week. Swim. Bike. Run.

Hope everyone had a great week!

About Carlye B

I'm a thirty-something desiring to live a healthier life - physically and spiritually. Join me as I share about those who inspire me, recipes, training tips, lessons about clean eating and life in general. Let's get fit, eat clean, and seek the Lord together.

One response »

  1. Bridgette Robinson

    Good week. Glad you listened to your body this week. That is a triumph in itself 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wellness With Joanna

Holistic Health Coaching

brandonmicah

Christ first in all things. I'm just your average dreamer.

Hip Girl's Guide to Homemaking Feed

pursuing health in real life

lizmariesimmons

Liz in London

The Bauman Beat

pursuing health in real life

More like falling in love....

pursuing health in real life

#WHATSHOULDWECALLNURSING

pursuing health in real life

quick like a bunny!

because life is hectic and we've got a schedule to keep damn it.

Jamie's Outlaw Journey

Journey from Sofa to Outlaw!

thrive2tri

The Creator has not given you a longing to do that which you have no ability to do. - Orison Swett Marden

The WaterBlogged Triathlete

Triathletes Swim First

The Final Forty

Losing weight, one mile at a time

didaskologos

Teaching The Word

The Adventures of Mr. Scoop

pursuing health in real life

Jeffrey and Noelle

pursuing health in real life

