RSS Feed

TRI training, week 4 – done

TRI training, week 4 – done

This is one my favorite motivational quotes. I saw it on Pinterest but it’s originally from Gibson’s Daily Running Quotes. I know it’s only week four and I have a long way to go but I’m still moving. Not fast. I’ve struggled and I haven’t seen much progress from a weight loss stand point but I’m not giving up. Here’s what the week looked like:

Image

When I got off work on Tuesday morning I went home and slept on and off for the next five hours. I was tired – 72 hours of work in five days. I looked forward to the next two days off. Around 6pm I went for a walk/jog around the neighborhood. One thing I love about my quaint little neighborhood is that people are active. I must have passed 10 different sets of dogs and owners and an additional 15 runners. We smile and manage a wave between huffs. My win for this workout is that I added in 3 hills. I ran up each of them. Don’t get me wrong. A headwind would have stopped me in my tracks but I didn’t quit! I felt accomplished. The race I’m training for is in an area that lies “between the ridge-and-valley portion of the Appalachian Mountains and the Cumberland Plateau”. Thank you, Wikipedia. In other words – hilly. My neighborhood is relatively flat but it connects to one with some serious hills, at least from my novice running perspective. Since I’ll be running ~3 days per week I’m going to start running the first one easy, add in some short sprints or hills to the second run, and then the third one will be the “long run”. Maybe one day I’ll be able to run the whole workout. For now I’m happy to see my split times getting faster. I know it makes sense because I’m jogging slightly longer intervals than when I started but it’s progress! I would be ecstatic to keep a 10-minute mile pace for 6.2 miles at the end of the triathlon! I almost wimped out on the final interval. I looked down at my MapMyRun app and it said I had 15 more seconds to go. Oh yeah, I can do this. I kept jogging and completed my interval then threw in an additional minute for good measure. I’m recognizing that the mental component of training is a pretty huge factor. I read an article in Runner’s World today about overcoming mental roadblocks: Negative thinking, rigid goals, doubt and unfair comparisons to others. They do exist! Read their suggestions to hurdle the roadblocks here. If you’re a fellow running newbie also check out their series of articles called The Starting Line. In addition to tackling the hills I paid attention to my footstrike, aiming for a midfoot strike instead of with my heel. It feels like I land on my midfoot and roll to push off my toes. Maybe one of my local running stores will offer a free gait evaluation sometime soon. A girl can hope.

Wednesday morning I slept through swim practice. Oops! I didn’t fall asleep until 2am the night before. When I woke up at 9, I ate a quick breakfast and headed to the Y for a bike and swim. I did 6 miles on the stationary bike because it looked a little stormy and I’m not comfortable enough yet on my road bike to ride in the rain. I’ve ridden on wet roads before and was nervous the whole time. But what’s the worst that could happen? A fall. Been there at least 5 times before. I’m pretty much a professional “faller”. Last time I was able to incorporate a roll and only came away with some road rash and a few bruises. Anywho, I set the bike to an intervals program and kept my rpms 95-105. The weather held off (no thunder) so I was able to swim. No swim team interference this early in the day. Woot woot! I repeated the swim workout from last week and stuck to my intervals. Again, I had to remind myself to kick.

I ended up sleeping and resting though most of Friday after I got home from work. I’ve had some rough shifts in the past week. I incredibly thankful to have a job so please do not take that as a complaint. I’ve just had some really sick kiddos lately and it’s wearing on me a little. Three days off could not have come at a better time.

Saturday morning I woke up dizzy. I could not put one foot in front of the other. I ran into a doorframe within two steps and had to brace myself with the wall. I drank some water and went back to sleep. More hydration issues? Stuffy ears from swimming? I only managed two meals the day before because I slept so much so maybe my blood sugar was low? Low BP when I sat up? No clue but it went away after another sleep cycle. (Mom, if you’re reading this I promise to go see my doc if it becomes a pattern). I got dressed, hydrated and grabbed a quick snack then headed to the pool. I told myself that if I didn’t feel well enough to swim then it would be worth watching others with good technique or that I would do a light workout. I felt better by the time I got to practice so I jumped in. And surprise – warm up lasts 20 minutes on Saturdays! Um, until last week that was the duration of my entire swim workout! I took breaks between my 100’s in warm up. No way would I be able to make it through the rest of the workout if I put all my effort into warm up. The workout was jumbled. Between the 18 of us across 9 lanes and the music the lifeguards had playing I could hardly hear the workout. They turned it down but it’s an indoor pool so the acoustics don’t lend well to hearing someone talk from the water. The guy in the next lane told us what he heard so we went with that. He’s a faster swimmer than I am so I ended up swimming the same distances (most of the time) then taking 5 seconds rest before starting the next thing. I have no idea what the intervals were. I was exhausted by the end but I put in the work and accomplished something. I focused on rotating and pulling through the water with my forearms in addition to my hands. My goggles kept fogging up and I couldn’t see the clock very well so I just swam. And swam, and swam, and kicked. I learned that I didn’t need as much rest as I thought. That night a friend joined me for the jog/walk. She’s a runner and has long legs, lucky, so I’m pretty sure I slowed her down but she didn’t let me feel bad about it if I did. Thanks, friend! I used the “talk test” throughout our workout and listened to my body. My stomach got a little queasy when my HR hit 199 during the run. I slowed down that interval, including the next walk, to allow my HR to recover at 167. After that my stomach and lungs felt better. Around mile four I got a second wind but played it safe and ended my workout close to on-time. It was a good day! I enjoy training by myself at times but today I needed swim club and Claire to keep me going. So thank you, training buddies!

About Carlye B

I'm a thirty-something desiring to live a healthier life - physically and spiritually. Join me as I share about those who inspire me, recipes, training tips, lessons about clean eating and life in general. Let's get fit, eat clean, and seek the Lord together.

2 responses »

  1. Bridgette Robinson

    You amaze me!!! Love you and looking forward to seeing you soon. Aunt B

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wellness With Joanna

Holistic Health Coaching

brandonmicah

Christ first in all things. I'm just your average dreamer.

Hip Girl's Guide to Homemaking Feed

pursuing health in real life

lizmariesimmons

Liz in London

The Bauman Beat

pursuing health in real life

More like falling in love....

pursuing health in real life

#WHATSHOULDWECALLNURSING

pursuing health in real life

quick like a bunny!

because life is hectic and we've got a schedule to keep damn it.

Jamie's Outlaw Journey

Journey from Sofa to Outlaw!

thrive2tri

The Creator has not given you a longing to do that which you have no ability to do. - Orison Swett Marden

The WaterBlogged Triathlete

Triathletes Swim First

The Final Forty

Losing weight, one mile at a time

didaskologos

Teaching The Word

The Adventures of Mr. Scoop

pursuing health in real life

Jeffrey and Noelle

pursuing health in real life

