RSS Feed

Pumpkin Loaf

Posted on

It’s October which means bring on the pumpkin! Check out this delicious recipe adapted from Whole-Wheat Pumpkin Bread by 100 Days of Real Food. I added pecans to the batter and sprinkled pumpkin seeds, or pepitas, on top before baking. I’m planning on baking another loaf and serving it for breakfast when my family comes for a visit later this week. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Loaf

A yummy way to incorporate Fall into your cooking!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ c whole-wheat flour
  • 1 ½ t cinnamon
  • 1 t ground ginger
  • ½ t nutmeg
  • 1/8 t cloves
  • 1 t baking soda
  • ¼ t baking powder
  • ½ t salt
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ c coconut oil
  • ½ c honey
  • ½ t vanilla
  • 1 c pumpkin puree
  • ½ c pecans
  • 1 T pepitas

Instructions:

1.     Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2.     Whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, baking soda, baking powder and salt) in a large mixing bowl.
3.     Make a hole in the center of the mix and add the eggs, oil, honey, and vanilla. Stir together with a fork. Be careful not to over mix.
4.     Fold in the pumpkin puree and pecans.
5.     Grease a regular sized loaf pan then pour in the batter.
6.     Sprinkle pepitas over the top of the batter.
7.     Bake 40-45 minutes. Use the toothpick test to assess doneness.

Coconut Oil

Cooking with coconut oil is relatively new to me so if its new to you I’ll share some tips I’ve found to be helpful. When buying coconut oil look for organic and unrefined/virgin (second best is expeller pressed which was available at my local Publix). It comes in solid form, white in color. I don’t know why that surprised me but when I went looking for oil I thought it would be liquid. It can be substituted for vegetable oil or butter in a 1:1 ratio and works great in baking. If a recipe calls for oil, liquify the measured amount by heating over low heat and allow to cool slightly before adding to your recipe. In solid form you can use it to grease pans. It’s hard to pull away from the convenience of cooking spray but I’m slowly working it into a habit. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

About Carlye B

I'm a thirty-something desiring to live a healthier life - physically and spiritually. Join me as I share about those who inspire me, recipes, training tips, lessons about clean eating and life in general. Let's get fit, eat clean, and seek the Lord together.

2 responses »

  1. Looks great. I just adapted this recipe into a Pumpkin Gingerbread Loaf, and also loved it! PS I like your running tips. Very useful as I’m starting to train for my first “official” race.

    Reply
  2. I am such a pumpkin bread girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wellness With Joanna

Holistic Health Coaching

brandonmicah

Christ first in all things. I'm just your average dreamer.

Hip Girl's Guide to Homemaking Feed

pursuing health in real life

lizmariesimmons

Liz in London

The Bauman Beat

pursuing health in real life

More like falling in love....

pursuing health in real life

#WHATSHOULDWECALLNURSING

pursuing health in real life

quick like a bunny!

because life is hectic and we've got a schedule to keep damn it.

Jamie's Outlaw Journey

Journey from Sofa to Outlaw!

thrive2tri

The Creator has not given you a longing to do that which you have no ability to do. - Orison Swett Marden

The WaterBlogged Triathlete

Triathletes Swim First

The Final Forty

Losing weight, one mile at a time

didaskologos

Teaching The Word

The Adventures of Mr. Scoop

pursuing health in real life

Jeffrey and Noelle

pursuing health in real life

