RSS Feed

Need some meal ideas? Whole30: Week 2

Posted on
Need some meal ideas? Whole30: Week 2

I cannot believe I’m starting my third week without sugar, caffeine, dairy, beans or legumes. It’s been great! My energy level is now constant until 10:30pm. At that point it becomes “find your bed ASAP”. Then after about seven hours of sleep I’m waking up before my alarm and am ready to start the day. I’ve never been a morning person yet chose a career that starts at 6:45am. Oh well. I’ve found that I am functioning better with less sleep, especially on post-call days. That’s a plus! And WHOLE30 required a drastic increase in protein from my previous eating habits that now I’m only hungry for snacks after exercising or on long work days. This week’s blog will just feature my favorites meals because I learned to appreciate leftovers. Here we go…

MEAL 1 FAVORITES

Bacon wrapped Egg McNuthin

Bacon wrapped Egg McNuthin

Berries with Egg McNuthins

Berries with Egg McNuthins (overcooked, oops)

Spinach omelet with bacon and berries

Spinach omelet with bacon and berries

Scrambled eggs with bacon and melon

Scrambled eggs with bacon and melon

  • Egg McNuthin’s were yummy and great for work days. Warning! They will ruin even your nonstick muffin tins (yep, learned this the hard way) so be sure to line them with silicone cups or coconut oil. I also made some with turkey. Here’s what I found at my local Publix. If you’ve got to by lunch meat be sure to watch out for nitrates.
Nitrate free turkey

Nitrate free turkey

 

MEAL 2 & 3 FAVORITES

Meatballs and zoodles

Meatballs and zoodles

Meatballs and green beans

Meatballs and green beans

Pan-roasted lemon chicken over spinach with apple + almond butter

Pan-roasted lemon chicken over spinach with apple + almond butter

Jalapeno chicken burgers on sweet potato buns with spinach salad

Jalapeño chicken burgers on sweet potato buns with spinach salad

Mexican lettuce wraps with oven-braised beef

Mexican lettuce wraps with oven-braised beef

  • Italian sausage meatballs with zoddles or green beans. This one was new for me. I’ve never made meatballs before. One thing is for sure, they’re hearty. I learned that I much prefer green beans as a base compared to zoodles. I haven’t mastered pulling the water out so the zoodles aren’t soggy but I may try again.
  • Pan-roasted lemon chicken (repeat)
  • Jalapeño chicken burgers with guac and sweet potato buns. Delicious! I grilled the burgers probably a little too long because they were rocks when I reheated them for leftovers the next day. Consider freezing extra patties and grilling or pan cooking them for each meal if possible.
  • And now for my favorite! Mexican lettuce wraps with guac, cilantro and lime juice. Here’s where my flop of the week comes in. I read through 2/3 of the blog with the recipe and started cooking this after dinner one night for work the next day. When I got to the photo step where there’s a line about putting it in the oven I paused. Bake for THREE HOURS. Seriously?! I did not have time for that before bed time so into the fridge it went. And “marinated” for 36 hours until I got home from work. On the bright side, I popped it in the oven Sunday morning and boom. Lunch, dinner and leftovers for work were done. I didn’t have fish sauce so I found the meat to be adaptable to different styles of meals – Mexican, Southern, or Oriental.

On day 14 I added in some exercise to this WHOLE30 routine. I gave myself enough time to get acclimated to the meal planning and cooking and felt ready to add in some movement.

There you have it. Another week is in the books. And I know you’re not supposed to weigh yourself but I did. Drum roll please…. I’m down 10.2 lbs in 14 days. Feeling good. Hope you all have a great week!

– C

About Carlye B

I'm a thirty-something desiring to live a healthier life - physically and spiritually. Join me as I share about those who inspire me, recipes, training tips, lessons about clean eating and life in general. Let's get fit, eat clean, and seek the Lord together.

Leave a Reply

Wellness With Joanna

Holistic Health Coaching

brandonmicah

Christ first in all things. I'm just your average dreamer.

Hip Girl's Guide to Homemaking Feed

pursuing health in real life

lizmariesimmons

Liz in London

The Bauman Beat

pursuing health in real life

More like falling in love....

pursuing health in real life

#WHATSHOULDWECALLNURSING

pursuing health in real life

quick like a bunny!

because life is hectic and we've got a schedule to keep damn it.

Jamie's Outlaw Journey

Journey from Sofa to Outlaw!

thrive2tri

The Creator has not given you a longing to do that which you have no ability to do. - Orison Swett Marden

The WaterBlogged Triathlete

Triathletes Swim First

The Final Forty

Losing weight, one mile at a time

didaskologos

Teaching The Word

The Adventures of Mr. Scoop

pursuing health in real life

Jeffrey and Noelle

pursuing health in real life

